Future of work

Digital Upskilling is a Journey - do your first steps now

Explore the four most crucial skills and start your learning path

Tomáš Plesník

--

Photo by Tobi from Pexels

I am on this journey for a couple of years. Although my background is auditing and accounting, I always wonder why some things are done in the old, slow, and sometimes papers-based way. So I try to learn more about the digital tools we can use.

When using a new tool, I asked myself: How it can help me to be more effective and have more fun at work?

My passion is also to train others. Some questions people asked repeated themselves quite often.

  • But Tom, where do I start?
  • Should I learn to code or focus on excel?
  • Are there any good courses online which would you recommend?

I cannot be annoyed with them, they are great questions. I also asked such questions when I was at the beginning of this Digital Upskilling journey.

Three years ago I was lost in a digital world.

I watched random Youtube videos, read too many articles. I did some learning for fun, some for the projects I was working on. If I encounter a problem, I looked up a solution. However, I missed a plan or structure for learning.

In the last year, I was searching for the best way how to upskill myself. I come up with four key areas that will increase your value on the job market or in your own freelance business.

If you focus on all of them, it will be a leap from the end-user to power users.

Not only you will know where to click and how to perform certain tasks effectively. But you will also understand why the application works as it works which will be more fun for you on this journey. And you will be able to connect the dots in the current fast-changing world.

1. Digital Collaboration tools

The year 2020 is a revolution for digital collaboration. Remote work became reality. No matter what you do, you need to master these tools:

  • MS Teams (and whole Microsoft 365) or Slack
  • Cloud-based file management
  • Project management tools.

List of free training resources:

List of paid training resources:

2. Data Literacy

According to this Forbes article, data literacy is the #1 job skills companies are looking for.

Everything digital is driven by data. If you want to excel in your role you shouldn't be the only consumers of dashboards and final products.

Be the one who owns data, their manipulation and interpretation. Be the one who creates useful information from raw data.

List of free training resources:

List of paid training resources:

3. Coding

Working with data in specialized software (like Tableau or PowerBI) is now available for everybody. However, the other way how you can work with data is by using some coding.

Even if you are not becoming a programmer, learn to code help to be a better problem solver.

Why? I am sharing with you this very interesting article: Why You Should Learn to Code (Even If You’re Not a Developer)

List of free training resources:

List of paid training resources:

4. General Digital Skills (how it all have impacts on corporations and societies)

Finally, the ones who do the innovation and implementation of digital tools are people. Transformation is never done by itself.

You should be aware of how the digital transformation is driven by people and how it affects individual people.

If you wanna know what is happening now and how the changes are done in your company, look at these useful resources.

List of free training resources:

List of paid training resources:

Notes

*The Linkedin price is for the whole Linkedin Learning Website

--

--

Tomáš Plesník

Financial professional writing about future of work and how to stay human in the competition of AI.